Research grants funded by the State of Lower Saxony 2026

Next application deadline: January 31, 2025, start: January 1, 2026

Post-doc Fellowships

Early career scholars who are within 6 years of receiving their PhD, may apply for a long-term fellowship of between 6 and 10 months. The library will award from 4 to 6 such fellowships annually. The monthly fellowship is € 2.200. The fellowship holder will receive a one-time reimbursement for the cost of travel to and from Wolfenbüttel (max. € 2.000). Fellows who bring their families to Wolfenbüttel may apply for a monthly child supplement (one child: € 300; two children € 400; three or more € 500).
*for applications submitted in January 2025 the PhD must have been awarded in 2019 or later.

Short-term Fellowships

The fellowships are addressed to a broad range of scholars of all career stages (from post-doc to emeriti) wishing to make a short visit in order to gather source material. Applications can be made for stays of between one and three months. The monthly fellowship is € 1.800. A travel subsidy will also be paid (between € 150 and max. € 650, depending on country of origin).

Application for a fellowship at the Herzog August Bibliothek

For your application please request the application forms for the respective fellowship program at ed.ba1712928156h@gnu1712928156hcsro1712928156f1712928156, stating your research focus and the keyword "Post-doc" or "Short-term". Reviewers will be appointed to evaluate the applications, and the Scientific Advisory Board will select the fellows. You can find the guidelines for the awarding of scholarships in the download area on the right.

 

NEW: NFDI4Memory FAIR Data Fellowships

Deadline: April 2, 2024
Call for papers see in the 'Download' section

 

Postdoc fellowship for East-Central European academics in Gotha, Halle and Wolfenbüttel (3 months)

The Forschungszentrum Gotha (Gotha Research Centre) at Universität Erfurt, the Franckesche Stiftungen zu Halle (Franke Foundations in Halle) and the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel are awarding a new three-month fellowship for 2024 to an outstanding post-doc academic from East-Central Europe to research their collections. This international programme is open to all fields of historical study. It promotes projects that are devoted to researching the collections of all three institutions, linking them together and relating them to one another. A clearly substantiated connection to all three collections is therefore required.

The Gotha Research Centre at Universität Erfurt – with its universal collections of the former Ducal House of Saxe-Gotha-Altenburg, in particular those held in the Forschungsbibliothek Gotha (Gotha Research Library) – the Franckesche Stiftungen, with its Historische Bibliothek (Historical Library) and the famous Kunst- und Naturalienkammer (Cabinet of Artefacts and Natural Curiosities) of 1736/41, and the Herzog August Library Wolfenbüttel, as Germany’s most significant library of the early modern period, are among the most outstanding collections and research institutions for the cultural history of early European modernity (focusing on the period prior to 1800). The collections of the three institutions are in many ways complementary, so that research interests can frequently be pursued at all three together and many research projects have been able to profit significantly from using all three collections. The joint fellowship programme aims to support this kind of cross-institutional research in future.

The fellowship amounts to €2,000 per month. In addition, a family subsidy of a further €400 per month is available. The host institutions will assist in finding childcare facilities.

The fellowship holder will be required to live full-time in at least one of the three locations for the entire residency. Stays of at least two weeks at the other institutions are required. A subsidy for travel expenses of €500 is provided.

The programme is supported by the Dorothee Wilms-Stiftung (Dorothee Wilms Foundation) as part of the Stifterverband initiative (https://www.deutsches-stiftungszentrum.de/stiftungen/dorothee-wilms-stiftung). There are plans in place for it to be continued.

A detailed call for applications with information on necessary documentation is online on the Forschungszentrum Gotha website (https://www.uni-erfurt.de/forschungszentrum-gotha).

Cooperation partners:

Forschungsbibliothek Gotha: https://www.uni-erfurt.de/forschungsbibliothek-gotha

Franckesche Stiftungen zu Halle: https://www.francke-halle.de/de/

Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel: https://www.hab.de/

Fellowship period: 3 months, between 1 January and 31 August 2024

Close of applications: 31 October 2023

Contact:

Forschungszentrum Gotha der Universität Erfurt
Kristina Petri (Academic coordinator)
Schloßberg 2, 99687 Gotha
forsc1712928156hungs1712928156zentr1712928156um.go1712928156tha@u1712928156ni-er1712928156furt.1712928156de1712928156

 

HAB-Newberry Library Chicago

The Herzog August Bibliothek annually awards one-month fellowships, which are combined with a fellowship at the Newberry Library Chicago. The goal is to support a research project based on the holdings of both libraries. Enquiries and applications should be addressed to the Newberry Library (short-term-fellowships/long-term-fellowships).

Forschungsstipendien des Landes Niedersachsen 2026

Nächster Bewerbungstermin: 31. Januar 2025, Beginn: 01. Januar 2026

Post-doc Stipendium

Post-doc Stipendien richten sich an Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen, deren Promotionsabschluss bei Einreichung der Bewerbung nicht länger als sechs Jahre* zurückliegt. Der Stipendienaufenthalt beträgt mindestens sechs und maximal zehn Monate, der monatliche Stipendiensatz beträgt € 2.200 und es werden einmalig Reisekosten der An- und Abreise übernommen (maximal € 2.000). Für Personen, die mit Familie nach Wolfenbüttel reisen, können monatliche Kinderzuschläge gewährt werden (bei einem Kind: € 300; bei zwei Kindern: € 400; bei drei und mehr Kindern: € 500). Jährlich kann die Bibliothek vier bis fünf der Post-doc Stipendien vergeben. (*Bei Einreichung im Januar 2025 muss die Promotion im Jahr 2019 oder später erfolgt sein.)

Kurzzeitstipendium

Alternativ gibt es an der Herzog August Bibliothek auch die Möglichkeit für Kurzzeitstipendien. Diese Stipendien erlauben einem größeren Kreis von Personen aller Qualifikationsstufen (promoviert bis hin zu emeritiert) Aufenthalte an der Bibliothek zu absolvieren, die dem intensiven Quellenstudium dienen. Die Stipendien können für Zeiträume von mindestens einem bis maximal drei Monaten beantragt werden. Das monatliche Stipendium beträgt € 1.800, ein kleiner Zuschuss zu den Reisekosten (zwischen € 150 und maximal € 650 je nach Ländergruppe) wird gewährt.

Bewerbung für ein Stipendium an der Herzog August Bibliothek

Bitte fordern Sie für eine Bewerbung unter Nennung Ihres Forschungsschwerpunktes und dem Stichwort „Post-doc“ bzw. „Kurzzeit“ unter ed.ba1708961400h@gnu1708961400hcsro1708961400f1708961400 die Bewerbungsunterlagen für das jeweilige Stipendienprogramm an. Zur Beurteilung der Anträge werden Gutachter*innen bestellt, die Auswahl der Stipendiat*innen erfolgt durch den Wissenschaftlichen Beirat. Im Download-Bereich auf der rechten Seite finden Sie die Richtlinien für die Vergabe von Stipendien.

 

Postdoc-Stipendium für ostmitteleuropäische Wissenschaftler:innen in Gotha, Halle und Wolfenbüttel (3 Monate)

Das Forschungszentrum Gotha der Universität Erfurt, die Franckeschen Stiftungen zu Halle und die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel vergeben für das Jahr 2024 erstmals ein dreimonatiges Stipendium an eine/n exzellent promovierte/n Wissenschaftler/in aus dem ostmitteleuropäischen Raum für die Erforschung ihrer Bestände. Das internationale Stipendienprogramm steht allen historisch orientierten Fachrichtungen offen. Es fördert Projekte, die sich auf die Erforschung der Bestände aller drei Einrichtungen ausrichten, diese miteinander verbinden und in Beziehung setzen. Ein klar begründeter Bezug auf die jeweils vor Ort vorgehaltenen Bestände ist daher unabdingbar.

Der Standort Gotha der Universität Erfurt mit den universell ausgerichteten Sammlungen des ehemaligen Herzogshauses Sachsen-Gotha-Altenburg, insbesondere in der Forschungsbibliothek Gotha, die Franckeschen Stiftungen zu Halle mit der Historischen Bibliothek und der berühmten Kunst- und Naturalienkammer von 1736/41 sowie die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel als bedeutendste Frühneuzeit-Bibliothek Deutschlands gehören zu den herausragenden Sammlungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen für die Kulturgeschichte der europäischen Vormoderne (zeitlicher Schwerpunkt vor 1800). Die Sammlungsbestände weisen auch thematisch eine oft komplementäre Nähe zueinander auf. Entsprechende Themen und Fragestellungen lassen sich daher häufig an allen drei Standorten gleichermaßen bearbeiten; zugleich könnten viele Forschungsprojekte aber von der gleichzeitigen Nutzung der Bestände aller drei Einrichtungen noch einmal erheblich profitieren. Diese Forschungen werden künftig mit dem gemeinsamen Stipendienprogramm gezielt gefördert.

Das Stipendium beläuft sich auf 2.000 Euro monatlich. Hinzu kommt ggf. eine Familienpauschale in Höhe von 400 Euro monatlich. Die gastgebenden Institutionen sind bei der Vermittlung von Kinderbetreuungsangeboten behilflich.

Für den gesamten Zeitraum besteht Residenzpflicht an mindestens einem der drei Orte. Es sind Aufenthalte von mind. zwei Wochen an allen drei Einrichtungen zu absolvieren. Ein Reisekostenzuschuss von 500 Euro wird gewährt.

Das Stipendienprogramm wird gefördert von der Dorothee Wilms-Stiftung im Stifterverband (https://www.deutsches-stiftungszentrum.de/stiftungen/dorothee-wilms-stiftung). Eine Fortführung des Programms ist geplant.

Eine detaillierte Ausschreibung mit Angaben zu den einzureichenden Unterlagen finden Sie im Internet auf den Seiten des Forschungszentrums Gotha (https://www.uni-erfurt.de/forschungszentrum-gotha).

Kooperationspartner:

Forschungsbibliothek Gotha: https://www.uni-erfurt.de/forschungsbibliothek-gotha

Franckesche Stiftungen zu Halle: https://www.francke-halle.de/de/

Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel: https://www.hab.de/

Förderzeitraum: 3 Monate, zwischen 1. Januar und 31. August 2024

Bewerbungsschluss: 31. Oktober 2023

Kontakt:

Forschungszentrum Gotha der Universität Erfurt
Kristina Petri (Wiss. Koordinatorin)
Schloßberg 2, 99687 Gotha
ed.tr1708961400ufre-1708961400inu@a1708961400htog.1708961400murtn1708961400ezsgn1708961400uhcsr1708961400of1708961400

 

 

HAB-Newberry Library Chicago

Jährlich werden einmonatige Stipendien in Verbindung mit einer Förderung durch die Newberry Library in Chicago vergeben. Ziel ist die Unterstützung eines Forschungsvorhabens, dem die Bestände beider Bibliotheken zugrunde liegen. Anfragen und Bewerbungen richten sich an die Newberry Library (Kurzzeitstipendium/Langzeitstipendium).