One of a total of 27 funded consortia, NFDI4Memory began operations in March 2023. As part of the NFDI network, NFDI4Memory is focused on the historical sciences and seeks to promote institutional, subject-specific, methodological innovations. Research facilities, memory institutions and information infrastructures cooperate with one another within the consortium.

As a member of NFDI4Memory, the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel brings with it its expertise in the area of metadata and in cataloguing, documenting and describing research data. Furthermore, alongside the Deutsches Museum, the Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung – Institut der Leibnizgemeinschaft (Leibniz Association’s Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe) and the Leibniz Institut für Europäische Geschichte (Leibniz Institute of European History), it is one of four institutions that annually award two FAIR Data Fellowships.

https://www.hab.de/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Logo-Fair-Data-Fellowships-negativ-250x250-1-250x250.png

You’ve collected historical data, but what’s the next step? The FAIR Data Fellowships offer support!

Projects focusing on historical disciplines often produce research data that can be developed for later use and/or publication. NFDI4Memory’s FAIR Data Fellowships offer a means of support. They allow researchers to process the data arising from ongoing or recently completed projects and get it ready for publication together with experts from the Deutsches Museum, the Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung – Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, the Leibniz-Institut für Europäische Geschichte and the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel.

What do the FAIR Data Fellowships offer?

There are up to eight FAIR Data Fellowships, each of which is worth EUR 1,500 and runs for one month. During this time the fellows independently process a dataset from their own projects. Experts in research data management from one of the four participating institutions offer practical support as they accompany them through the process. They receive advice on the FAIR principles, the appropriate means of structuring their data and the appropriate repositories for publishing their research data. By the end of the fellowship they will have created a structured dataset that is ready for publication. The fellows use various means (blog entries, for example) to share their experiences with the history-focused community.

Requirements

Depending on the institution implementing the fellowship, master’s students, doctoral candidates, postdocs and staff from museums, libraries, archives, universities and other research institutions as well as independent historians are all eligible to apply. Applicants must bear in mind the various requirements and key focuses of the institutions offering the fellowship. The fellowships take place remotely over the course of the programme’s duration. The exact time frame is coordinated with the institution in question.

Call for applications and contact details

The first call for applications is currently underway. All applications must be received by 2 April 2024.

FAIR Data Fellowship 2024 call for applications

The FAIR Data Fellowships are to run annually up to and including 2027.
If you have any questions or other concerns, please get in touch with the NFDI4Memory contact person, Christiane Weber (ed.dn1713470678abrev1713470678rekir1713470678otsih1713470678@rebe1713470678w1713470678).

Participating institutions:

//www.hab.de/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/alle-Logos.png
Logos of the Herzog August Bibliothek, the Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung, the Deutsches Museum and the Leibniz-Institut für Europäische Geschichte

Funding: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation, DFG)

Duration: March 2023 – February 2028

Project participant: Daniela Schulz

Als eines von insgesamt 27 geförderten Konsortien hat NFDI4Memory im März 2023 seine Arbeit aufgenommen. Innerhalb der NFDI deckt NFDI4Memory den Bereich der historisch arbeitenden Geisteswissenschaften ab und möchte institutionelle, fachliche und methodische Innovationen vorantreiben. Im Konsortium arbeiten Forschungs-, Gedächtnis- und Informationsinfrastruktureinrichtung zusammen.

Die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel ist als Participant in NFDI4Memory beteiligt und bringt ihre Expertise in den Bereichen Metadaten, Katalogisierung, Dokumentation und Beschreibung von Forschungsdaten ein. Darüber hinaus ist sie – neben dem Deutschen Museum, dem Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung – Institut der Leibnizgemeinschaft und dem Leibniz Institut für Europäische Geschichte – eine von vier Institutionen, die jährlich zwei FAIR Data Fellowships vergeben:

https://www.hab.de/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/Logo-Fair-Data-Fellowships-negativ-250x250.png
Logo des „FAIR Data Fellowships“

Historische Daten erhoben, aber was nun? – Unterstützung durch die FAIR Data Fellowships!

Oft entstehen im Rahmen eines Projekts in historisch arbeitenden Disziplinen Forschungsdaten, die für eine Nachnutzung und Publikation aufbereitet werden können. Unterstützung dabei bieten die FAIR Data Fellowships von NFDI4Memory. Sie eröffnen die Möglichkeit, Forschungsdaten aus abgeschlossenen oder kurz vor Abschluss stehenden Projekten zusammen mit Expert:innen des Deutschen Museums, des Herder-Instituts für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung – Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, des Leibniz-Instituts für Europäische Geschichte und der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel für die Publikation aufzubereiten.

Was bieten die FAIR Data Fellowships?

Jedes der bis zu acht FAIR Data Fellowship ist mit 1.500,- Euro dotiert und hat eine Laufzeit von einem Monat. Die Fellows bearbeiten in dieser Zeit selbstständig ein Datenset aus einem eigenen Projekt. Hierbei erfahren sie praktische Unterstützung und Begleitung durch Expert:innen im Forschungsdatenmanagement von jeweils einer der vier durchführenden Institutionen. Sie erhalten Beratung zu den FAIR-Prinzipien, geeigneten Strukturierungsmöglichkeiten sowie zu passenden Repositorien für die Publikation ihrer Forschungsdaten. Am Ende des Fellowships sollte ein strukturiertes und publikationsfähiges Datenset stehen. Ihre Erfahrungen teilen die Fellows, z.B. in Form von Blogbeiträgen, mit der historisch arbeitenden Community.

Voraussetzungen

Bewerben können sich – je nach durchführender Einrichtung – Masterstudierende, Doktorand:innen, PostDocs, Mitarbeiter:innen von Museen, Bibliotheken, Archiven, Universitäten und weiteren Forschungseinrichtungen sowie freie Historiker:innen. Die unterschiedlichen Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen und inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte der durchführenden Einrichtungen sind bei der Bewerbung zu berücksichtigen. Die Fellowships finden remote im Laufe des Förderjahrs statt; der genaue Zeitraum wird individuell mit der durchführenden Einrichtung abgestimmt.

Ausschreibungen und Kontakt

Aktuell läuft die erste Ausschreibung mit einer Bewerbungsfrist bis zum 2. April 2024:

FAIR Data Fellowship Ausschreibung 2024

Die FAIR Data Fellowships sollen bis einschließlich 2027 jährlich ausgeschrieben werden.
Allgemeine Fragen und Anliegen zu den FAIR Data Fellowships beantwortet die NFDI4Memory-Ansprechpartnerin Christiane Weber (ed.dn1713475222abrev1713475222rekir1713475222otsih1713475222@rebe1713475222w1713475222).

Ausschreibende Institutionen:

//www.hab.de/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/alle-Logos.png
Logos der Herzog August Bibliothek, des Herder-Instituts für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung, des Deutschen Museums und des Leibniz-Instituts für Europäische Geschichte

Finanzierung durch: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Laufzeit: März 2023 – Februar 2028

Projektbeteiligte: Daniela Schulz